April 25, 2016


Fermynwoods has received strategic direction and support from a Board of Trustees since it became a Company Limited by Guarantee with not-for-profit charitable objectives in 2005 and an Educational Charity in 2006.

Our current Board members and Trustees are:

Richard Clinton (Chair) is Chief Executive of Delapré Abbey Preservation Trust, with experience across Heritage, Culture, Wellbeing, Regeneration, and Enterprise. Richard previously as part of the Culture Trust supported with the Hat District Regeneration a Creative and Cultural project breathing new life in to Luton Town Centre. Richard is on the board of Northamptonshire Britain’s Best Surprise, which looks to support a vibrant and growing visitor economy in Northamptonshire.

Josh Allen (Trustee) is a writer and Avery Scholar at Columbia University studying architecture with a focus on adaptive reuse and organisational requirements in the built environment. Originally from the United States, he is also a management consultant with a US-based firm specialising in research and analysis for Defense clients.

Yasmin Canvin (Trustee) is an experienced curator informed by her interests in cross- disciplinary practice, social and environmental issues, and meaningful interactions. With a track record of collaborating with arts organisations and other partners to develop strategic programmes that are founded on artistic practice, Yasmin was previously Head of Operations & Comms for the Foundation for Community Dance, Director of Leicester Print Workshop and formerly Director of Fermynwoods Contemporary Art.

Barbara Dougan (Trustee) is an experienced artist, director of a gallery, and curator of her own project space, with twelve years experience working with Engage in different capacities. Barbara currently evaluates the ARMA artist residency and commissions and edit the Engage international journal. Barbara is good at and enjoys strategic thinking, and has supported Engage with two Arts Council NPO applications and two G4A applications.

Christine Goodwin (Trustee) specialises in behaviour management, life skills and the social and emotional development of the more challenging and disaffected students. In 1988 she moved to Northamptonshire and began her career in education, working in primary schools with children with special educational needs. Following this she had nine years of experience within a Secondary School holding the position of Deputy SENCO and Deputy Head of Year 10/11. It became a natural personal development to move onto a secondary pupil referral unit where she held the position of Assistant Head, SENCO and Examinations Officer. Christine is currently Director of the Enterprise Education Foundation and the Chair of a Primary Academy Advisory Board.

Graham Keddie (Trustee) has a BA in Painting, an MA in Fine Art Sculpture and is a Member of The Royal British Society of Sculptors. He works as an Artist Curator and has works in American, European and National Collections. He has 35 years lecturing experience including authorship of Fine Art Undergraduate Courses and is a Founding Member of APT? Practice Research Group and gallery202.

Valeria Medici (Trustee) is a recent BA Fine Art graduate from University of Northampton, an emerging conceptual artist and networker. Originally from Sicily (Italy), she has a previous background in restoration of art, theatre and film in both production and creative roles. Her interest in the art community has seen collaborations with arts organisations and exhibitions on a national level.

Rhona Rowland (Trustee) is the Managing Partner of VSH Law, she specialises in commercial and employment law and qualified as a Workplace Mediator in 2012. Before qualifying as a solicitor, Rhona worked as a manager for United Utilities and then as a researcher at Liverpool John Moores University.

We also owe a deep gratitude to all the Board members who have supported Fermynwoods since 2005, including:

Eppie Anderson
Lyn Blackadder
Susan Bonvin
Mark Burnell
Roger Bullen
Louise Davies
Patrick Duerden
Andrew Eden
Lee Farmer
Rachael Hargraves
Andrew Hewitt
Kirstin Irving
Veronica Kimbell (former Chair)
Andrew Langford
Joana P. R. Neves
Barbara Rawcliffe
Robin Rimbaud aka Scanner
Paul Sibbering
Nick Slater
Tim Smith (former Chair)
Kai Syng Tan
David Tristram
Caroline Wright
Elizabeth Wright